initial impressions/observations on BsAs

got a good night´s sleep so i headed out of the hostel before 10 this morning. kinda tired now, but here are my initial thoughts about this city:

-as i mentioned before, it has a very European feel to it (i´d read that somewhere before, too.) Avenida Florida feels like walking somewhere in Madrid.

-people don’t clean up after their dogs. i´m sure that will catch up with me soon.

-their meat is indeed very good. i paid the equivalent of about $6.50 for a good piece of steak today, and plan on going to this place called Siga la Vaca (follow the cow!) tomorrow where it´s an all you can eat kind of place. mmmm meat.

-substantial pollution here. more than any other foreign city i´ve visited.

-shopkeepers and waiters are very friendly and curious - always asking where you´re from, making little jokes, etc.

-the Mothers of the Disappeared (look them up if you don’t know your Argentine history) still march around the Plaza de Mayo at 3:30 on Thursdays. i was there around that time, but another march regarding development of the countryside was going to obscure any view i had of the women, so i didn´t stick around. that was kind of a bummer.

-i just bought a bottle of wine for $3.25 pesos - almost exactly one dollar. i´ll let you know if it´s any good.

-so far i am not particularly ´wowed´ by BsAs, but i´ll give it a chance for another few days. I may go with a group from the hostel to Tigre tomorrow, which is a suburb on the river that’s supposed to have a neat delta. If i don’t do that, i plan to go to Recoleta to see Evita´s grave and wander around a bit, and take the Subte (metro) for the first time.

- The US plays Argentina in the Copa America tonight - hoping to find some Argentines to watch the game with later.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Land Rover adventures